Wednesday, January 7, 2009

Breaking news: Palace OKs 10 long holidays in 2009

from ABS-CBN:

Last Christmas eve, Arroyo signed Proclamation 1699 that lays out the holiday schedule this year.

First on the holiday list is a three-day weekend before the Easter break.

The observance of Araw ng Kagitingan (Day of Valor) on April 9 (Thursday) was moved to the nearest Monday which is April 6.

This will be followed by the Easter holidays from April 9 (Maundy Thursday) until April 12 (Easter Sunday).

The other regular holidays are:
* Labor Day-May 1(Friday);
* Independence Day- June 12 (Friday);
* National Heroes Day- August 31 (Monday);
* Bonifacio Day - November 30 (Monday);
* Christmas Day- December 25 (Friday); and,
* Rizal Day- December 30 (Wednesday).

Arroyo declared the following as Special Non-Working Days:
* Ninoy Aquino Day - August 21 (Friday);
* All Saints Day - November 1 (Sunday) and All Soul's Day - November 2 (Monday);
* Christmas Eve - December 24 (Thursday); and,
* New Year's Eve - December 31 (Thursday).

The president has long been implementing holiday economics to boost domestic tourism and allow Filipinos to have more time with their families. Holiday economics entails the transfer of some holidays to a Monday or a Friday so that Filipinos may enjoy longer weekends.

Subscribe to our RSS feed or subscribe via email to get notified of our next post.

No comments:

Post a Comment